Our Town Reno Newsletter
Our Town Reno
JD, Mourning his Father and Broken Family While Homeless
0:00
-12:09

JD, Mourning his Father and Broken Family While Homeless

J.D. says he’s from a broken family and that he’s never recovered from facing his father’s death without the support of his relatives. “That's the reason why a lot of people are homeless because there's broken families, they're fighting each other, brothers and sisters are fighting each other,” he said. “Wives and husbands are fighting with each other. That's what's going on right now in life. That's the reason I'm homeless because my family is dysfunctional…. broken….” He tried to rebound with odd jobs for older people, raking leaves, helping with yard work, but he says he has had fewer and fewer opportunities. “Like if somebody needs help, I do it for free, but sometimes they give me something, a little pocket change and I take it because I do need it but I don't ask or beg for it. They just give it to me out of their own heart.” Our reporters for this episode are Prince Nesta and Jordan Blevins.

0 Comments
Our Town Reno Newsletter
Our Town Reno
With audio postcards from the streets, and inspiring interviews with community activists, we address issues of homelessness, the disappearance of public space, gentrification and the value of helping each other out from our base in Reno, Nevada. We do live reporting, micro storytelling and spoken word. As we face an affordable housing crisis, what happens to our most vulnerable?