Our Town Reno Newsletter
Our Town Reno
Joanne, 73, A Reader on the Streets Left to Fend for Herself after Facing Mounting Bills
0:00
-11:08

Joanne, 73, A Reader on the Streets Left to Fend for Herself after Facing Mounting Bills

“I've been on the streets for about six months, but (soon) when I get my check, I am going to have a room. I'm on the streets because there were a lot of bills I had to pay so I couldn't pay rent and everything, so I just did the only thing that I could do.” It's terrible that in our society elders among us who worked hard their whole lives face moments without shelter here in Reno during this cold, raw winter. Joanne tells her story to Our Town Reno reporters Jordan Blevins and Prince Nesta.

0 Comments
Our Town Reno Newsletter
Our Town Reno
With audio postcards from the streets, and inspiring interviews with community activists, we address issues of homelessness, the disappearance of public space, gentrification and the value of helping each other out from our base in Reno, Nevada. We do live reporting, micro storytelling and spoken word. As we face an affordable housing crisis, what happens to our most vulnerable?